A Bit of Context...

A Bit of Context...

ยท

3 min read

Hello ๐Ÿ‘‹,

I have been a huge proponent of open-source software. Yet, I have always used Windows as my operating system. However, I tried several times to switch to Ubuntu, but they all failed due to a lack of experience and my workflows being too reliant on Windows. Times have changed and I find it even more important to switch to the Linux ecosystem.

When I first started, I found it hard to find any detailed resources for anyone willing to make the switch. However, with time I have acquired a substantial amount of experience on Linux and the project has improved quite a lot to accommodate new users; not to mention the ever-growing ecosystem of compatible software.

But Why Now?

There are several reasons why I wanted to take the decision. An important one is the fact that Windows has become more and more cluttered over time. I use Windows 11 and it feels so heavy on my hardware. Even after cleaning the hard disk and making sure not to have any virus or malware, the OS starts to feel laggy. With support for Windows 10 coming to an end soon; and the fact that I hate the aesthetics of Windows 10, I do not like to switch to Windows 10.

Another point to make is the interface design. Windows 11 is much better compared to the Windows 10 interface, however, I still find these inconsistencies not pleasing to the eye. Maybe I simply need a change to a different experience altogether. I have always loved the gnome interface and the new Ubuntu 23.10 design caught my eye. This is also a reason why I am willing to try again.

Windows XP and 7 were great operating systems at the time. But since then, Microsoft continued to disappoint. They've diverted into different business models that are harder and harder for me to keep up. With rumours of a subscription-based OS, it's not going to be affordable for me to continue using Windows. Overall, I don't find the philosophy behind Windows appealing anymore.

A Bit of Context

I have worked with Linux for quite a while now. Even my work laptop is running Linux and my office workflows have become completely reliant on Ubuntu. Still, my personal laptop had always been Windows. The biggest issue had been the workflows that I've been used to. Some of these require programs running only on Linux. On the other hand, I've been used to the interface since my childhood. Breaking these habits will need time.

The Approach

I have several key workflows that I follow. The first step would be to identify these workflows. This allows me to identify programs that require alternatives on Linux. Next would be to try replacing them on Windows itself. If not possible, I'll have to identify ways to run them on Linux.

Once This step is complete, I'll prepare the laptop by moving all my data out of the Windows partition into another partition and linking those paths to Windows libraries. This allows me to install Ubuntu into a new partition and share the data between both OS. This way, I will not run into document issues.

With both OS available, I'll try to move each workflow into Ubuntu. Once I'm confident that the transition is complete, I'll remove Windows completing the transition.

Final Thoughts

This is just an idea that I've been having for quite some time. The reason that I started this series is to document all the steps I follow in this journey. Maybe I might succeed, or maybe I won't, but either way, I have a feeling that some of the research I'll provide will be helpful to someone in the future. I don't have a deadline for this series and I prefer to take as much time as I require. Thus, I'm not sure when the next update will arrive. Until then...

Cheers ๐ŸŽ‰

ย